Inter-Territorial Catholic Bishops’ Conference

  • ITCABIC is an acronym which means Inter-Territorial Catholic Bishops’ Conference.
  • ITCABIC was formed in 1975.
  • ITCABIC was initially made up of seven constituent dioceses in three countries: The Gambia, Liberia and Sierra Leone. In 1998, the three Bishops of Liberia felt the need to withdraw from ITCABIC and establish their own Episcopal Conference in Liberia. This was a sign of tremendous growth and maturity considering the pastoral needs that challenge them. The two countries that make up ITCABIC from 1998 to date are The Gambia and Sierra Leone. ITCABIC has the following Bishops:
    1. Bishop Patrick Koroma, Diocese of Kenema, Sierra Leone - President
    2. Archbishop Edward Tamba Charles, Archdiocese of Freetown, Sierra Leone – Vice President
    3. Bishop Charles Campbell, Diocese of Bo, Sierra Leone, member
    4. Bishop Robert Ellison, Diocese of Banjul, The Gambia, member
    5. Bishop Henry Aruna, Diocese of Makeni, Sierra Leone, member
  • The ITCABIC conference has 3 Junior or Minor Seminaries:
    1. St. Peter’s Minor Seminary, Lamin, Diocese of Banjul
    2. St. Augustine’s Junior Seminar, Bo, Archdiocese of Freetown and Bo
    3. St. Francis Xavier Junior Seminary, Makeni, Diocese of Makeni
  • ITCABIC has a Pre-major Seminary in Kenema known as St. Kizito’s and a Major Seminary known as St. Paul’s. Originally, St. Paul’s Major Seminary was located in Gbarnga, Liberia, built in 1974 for the formation of Major Seminarians. St Paul’s Major Seminary is now permanently located at Regent in Freetown.
  • ITCABIC has its office at Santanno House, Howe Street Freetown
    P.O. Box 98
    P. O. Box 893
    Tel: 00 232 76 381 506
    Tel: 00 232 33 974 238
The plenary meeting of the ITCABIC Conference is held once a year for prayer, study and discussions on pertinent common issues concerning the carrying out of the Mission Mandate of our Lord in the respective ITCABIC dioceses.